The Nature Trust of British Columbia derives its core mission from letters patent dated October 1, 1971 under the Canada Corporations Act. It is headquartered in North Vancouver and governed by a volunteer Board of Directors numbering up to 17 people.

The Board is a mix of prominent scientists, senior business executives and regional representatives. Directors elected today serve a four-year term. They are elected by a majority vote of the Board. One position may be appointed by the Prime Minister of Canada. Directors are responsible for following a code of conduct and ethics that promotes honest and ethical behavior and fair dealing – values that are also promoted in dealings with donors, partners and other stakeholders.

The Board meets four times a year and has four Standing Committees – Executive Committee, HR Governance Committee, Biodiversity and Land Management Committee, and Audit, Finance and Investment Committee. The Chief Executive Officer is accountable to the Board and is responsible for carrying out a strategic plan that is renewed every five years.

Comments are closed.

Conserving Land in BC for Future Generations